Cover your Tracks

If you are worried about someone potentially finding out that you have visited this website, please read below.

 

All of the below information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites. The safest way to find information on the internet would be at a local library, a friend’s house or at work.

How can an abuser discover my internet activities?

Most internet browsers will save certain information as you browse the internet. This includes images from the websites you visit, information entered into search engine websites and also a history (trail) of every individual site that you have visited.

Toolbars used, for example a Google search bar, keep a record of the search words you have typed into the search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose “Clear Search History”.

Please see below for instructions on how to delete your browsing history by browser, as well as some other security tips.

General Security

If you do not use a password to log onto your computer, another person may well be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet would be at a local library, a friend’s house or at work.

Email Security

If somebody sends you threatening or harassing email messages, these can be printed and saved as evidence of such abuse. Any emails that you have previously sent should be stored in your ‘Sent Items’ folder.

If you started an email but didn’t finish it, you may find it in your ‘Drafts’ folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message; print and delete the email if you don’t want anyone to see your original message.

When you delete an item in any email program it normally does not permanently delete the item; instead, it moves the item to a folder called ‘Deleted Items’. You have to then delete these items separately. To do this, right-click on the email items within the ‘Deleted Items’ folder and choose the option to ‘Delete’, ‘Permanently Delete’, or similar.

How to delete browsing history by browser

Google Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More.
  3. Click History and then History.
  4. On the left, click Clear browsing data. A box will appear.
  5. From the drop-down menu, select how much history you want to delete. To clear everything, select All time.
  6. Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history.”
  7. Click Clear data.

More info

 

Safari

  1. Choose History > Clear History, then click the pop-up menu.
  2. Choose how far back you want your browsing history cleared.

More info

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Click the Library button 57 library icon , click History and then click Clear Recent History….
  2. Select how much history you want to clear:Use the check boxes to select what information you want to clear from your history, and select the time range to clear by clicking on the drop down menu.
  3. Click the OK button. The window will close and the items you’ve selected will be cleared from your history.

More info

Microsoft Edge

  1. Select Settings and more  > Settings  > Privacy, search, and services .
  2. Under Clear browsing data, select Choose what to clear.
  3. Choose a time range from the Time range drop-down menu.
  4. Choose the types of data you want to clear (see the table below for descriptions). For example, you may want to remove browsing history and cookies but keep passwords and form fill data.
  5. Select Clear now.

More info

Internet Explorer

  1. In Internet Explorer, select the Tools  button, point to Safety, and then select Delete browsing history.
  2. Choose the types of data or files you want to remove from your PC, and then select Delete.

More info

Opera

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click Advanced in the left sidebar, and click Privacy & security.
  3. Under Privacy and security, click Clear browsing data.
  4. Select a time range and the types of data you wish to clear, and click Clear data.

More info

Hide this website